Ohio Parent on State’s Dual System of Publicly Funded Schools

This is what civic responsibility looks like….thank you Susie!

Diane Ravitch's blog

Susie Kaeser lives in Cleveland Heights and is former director of Reaching Heights. She serves on the national board of Parents for Public Schools.

She writes:

I prefer to ignore charter schools. I know good people who work in them and use them. Charters don’t appear to have much to do with my school district. How much good can they do? How much harm?

Reports of fraud, profiteering and failure pushed me to learn more. Because charter schools are funded with public funds, I thought I would go to the heart of the matter and “follow the money.” I turned to Bill Phillis, a longtime advocate of reforming school funding in Ohio, for an explanation of the system that now uses state tax dollars to fund two different kinds of public schools. I am troubled by what I learned.

The Ohio Constitution requires the state to provide all children a…

View original post 621 more words

Leave a Reply

